Friday, Friday, Friday

The end of the work week is typically exciting for me, but lately as 4:30 on Friday draws nearer, dread sets in.

I love my social life. I love my friends. I love going out and socializing with these friends. Socializing usually incorporates some variety of food and/or drink. This is what I dread.

It’s like the wheels fall off on Friday night, and I think I can let myself get back to my old ways. I’m not on a ‘diet’. I’m choosing to eat clean as a way of fostering a healthy lifestyle, but I have to say, celery just doesn’t have the same appeal as chocolate. I get that depriving myself of all of these things all of the time isn’t a healthy way to survive, but neither is main-lining candy, cookies, and carbs every day.  A lady from my work brought up cupcakes, and I literally started salivating.

It’s been a relatively tough week. After the shredding my body took last weekend, at my own hands, of course, it’s been a long week of feeling like crap in ALL of my work outs. My bootcamp and my bootcamp trainer (Michelle from www.survivorbootcamp.ca) have been a great motivator for me. I’ve gone from being the girl at the back of the runs, to the girl somewhere in the middle. (as an aside, this may be one of the few times in life where I’m glad to be hiding in the middle) This week, I felt like the girl in the back again.

All of that being said, I know that in the journey to making this the lifestyle as opposed to creating new habits, there are going to be rough days. Patience being the least of my virtues is what gets to me.

 Going to bootcamp tonight, for the first time ever on a Friday night. I’m looking forward to my rest day tomorrow, I’m also looking forward to not looking forward to rest days.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike Jenkinson
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 22:09:45

    It’s tough. I let Friday be my “cheat day” on eating clean so that I have one day a week where we can order in Chinese food and enjoy it without feeling guilty. But perseverance does pay off. I used to be on the plus side of 220 lbs., and I’ve taken 40 lbs off permanently. Hang in there.

    Reply

  2. bikiniorbust
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 23:38:52

    Celebrate every single success and don’t beat yourself up when you’re not 100% compliant. You are doing fabulous!!! Small changes can build something amazing over time. I am truly impressed by your commitment and honesty! Go woman, go!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

